Tech Halp

Make some music, have some musical tips or questions ? Well, why not bung them in here !
seedy
Antique Toy

Tech Halp

Post by seedy »

whelp so i got off to a start.....got a few things recorded but my PC crashes a lot
i almost remember it did this a decent amount when i first got things set up

right now i need to make sure i have anything and everything shut down that i can so that my software can have as much RAM as possible (does that even make sense?)

anyone know the best way to check all the stuff i have running and shut them down?
i know some basic routes but i'm not very good at this stuff :)
Pandemonium
Pale Moon

Re: Tech Halp

Post by Pandemonium »

Windows or Mac?

What is your current hardware configuration??
You're doin' too much, do less.
mcbpete
Far-out Son of Lung

Post by mcbpete »

Well I guess the best way to check is just run Task Manager (CTRL-ALT-DEL until Windows Vista, CTRL-ALT-ESC for Windows 7/8)
Having a lack of ram will make things slow (as it starts to use your hard disk for extra memory) but shouldn't keep crashing.

Maybe try good ol' MBAM ( http://www.malwarebytes.org/mwb-download/ ) and SuperAntiSpyware ( http://www.superantispyware.com/downloa ... PYWAREFREE ) and see if anything gets flagged up.
seedy
Antique Toy

Post by seedy »

well the issues here are a few

a) i likely do have some virus krap that i've never been able to fully remove. malwarebytes and superantispyware get run alot but i'm pretty sure i still have stuff lingering

b) as noted i'm just a total computer dolt...so if you have the heart to help....please bare with my ignorance :)

just reading through the (cakewalk sonar producer) forums i'm reminded to check out my buffer/latency thing so that will surely be a good thing to check out.

anyhoo.....tech details....please be as specific as possible as i'll likely have little idea how to answer in the first place ;)
i have windows 7 64 bit, a good pentium, i believe 2 gigs of RAM, m-audio sound card.